Members: Brendan B. Brown, Kevin Garcia, Liz Brown, Gerard Hoffmann, Matt Milligan, Connie Renda

Active: 1998 - Present


Wheatus was formed by Brendan B. Brown in 1998. Brown wrote a few songs, enlisted the help of his brother, Peter on drums and Rich Leigey on bass (he was replaced by Mike McCabe after the release of their self-titled debut Wheatus).

Wheatus' first and largest hit was the single "Teenage Dirtbag", which charted at #2 in the UK. Their second single "A Little Respect" (an Erasure cover) also reached high chart positions, and was another top 3 hit for the band in the UK singles chart. Their third single, a double A-side of "Leroy" and "Wannabe Gangstar" (the single-version of the latter featuring Bruce Dickinson of Iron Maiden) performed less well.

When the band began work on their second album Liz Brown (the sister of the brothers Brown) and Kathryn Froggat (Brendan Brown's girlfriend, previously the band's merchandiser) teamed up for backing vocals. Shannon Harris, of Relish (who had supported Wheatus on their earlier tours), signed on as keyboardist, at the request of Brendan Brown.

Due to disagreements with their record label, primarily caused by Brendan Brown's insistence on self-producing the album (as he had done with their debut), Wheatus' second album, Hand Over Your Loved Ones, received little or no promotion and did not sell well, with the single "American In Amsterdam" also failing to significantly impact the music charts. In October, 2004 Michael Bellar joined Wheatus on keyboard, as former keyboarder Shannon Harris had left the band earlier that year. The band re-released their second album in 2005 under the title Suck Fony on their own label Montauk Mantis with two new songs, "William McGovern" and the Pat Benatar cover "Hit Me With Your Best Shot". The album is only available from the band's website, except in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland. There, a greater demand for Wheatus albums, and a greater proliferation of independent music stores, allowed the band to get a distribution contract, despite the relative obscurity of their record label.

At some point in time Wheatus was signed by Warner Brothers to perform a theme for the Warner Brothers cartoon show Jackie Chan Adventures. The band members decided to cover one of their rather obscure songs titled "Punk Ass Bitch" for the theme ("Punk Ass Bitch" which was penned by Leigey, remains one of the most downloaded Wheatus songs according to itunes); their performance was later scrapped in favor of an instrumental theme for the show, but was used as the ending theme, and in a few commercial advertisements for the show, on the Warner Brothers television network.

Bassist Mike McCabe left the band in early 2005 and was replaced by Nicolas diPierro. Later that year Michael Bellar also left, and was replaced by Gerard Hoffmann. The line-up changes continued in January 2006, with the departure of diPierro from the band. He was replaced by 19-year-old rookie bassist Matt Milligan. A line-up change was announced on 2 May 2006: Drummer Pete Brown gave up being a musician to get married and live "a 'normal' life".He was replaced by Kevin Garcia, leaving Brendan Brown as the only member remaining from the original line-up. The next line up change occurred only five days later, on 9 May 2006, with Kathryn Froggatt leaving the band due to pregnancy, and also to concentrate on future solo work. Kathryn was replaced by Connie Renda shortly after announcing her departure from the band.


2000 - Wheatus

2003 - Hand Over Your Loved Ones

2005 - Suck Fony

2005 - TooSoonMonsoon


2004 - Lemonade

2004 - Live at XM

2006 - The London Sun


2001 - Teenage Dirtbag

2001 - A Little Respect

2002 - Wannabe Gangstar"/"Leroy

2003 - American In Amsterdam

2005 - BMX Bandits

2006 - The London Sun

Share your thoughts

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

0 Comments found