Breaking Benjamin

Members: Benjamin Burnley, Aaron Fink, Mark Klepaski, Chad Szeliga

Active: 2000-present


Formed in 1999 under the moniker "Plan 9", the band quickly garnered a local following before changing their name to "Breaking Benjamin" in late 2000 and signing to Hollywood Records, where they released their major-label debut, Saturate, in 2002. The first single, "Polyamorous", received a fair amount radio play. Additionally, the song was featured in the video game Run Like Hell. It was also featured, along with "Firefly", in the video games WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW, WWE Day of Reckoning, and WWE Wrestlemania 21. The video was released in two different versions, one for the UK that had all live-action footage and one for the US that had footage of the video game Run Like Hell; both videos can be seen on YouTube.

Breaking Benjamin released their sophomore album, We Are Not Alone, on June 29, 2004, which featured the leadoff single "So Cold". The band had two music videos made for the song, one of which was a promotional video made for the movie Hellboy. Later in 2004, the band released the So Cold EP. The EP contains live recordings of We Are Not Alone's "So Cold" (an acoustic recording), "Breakdown", and "Away", as well as studio recordings of "Blow Me Away" and "Lady Bug".

On September 28, 2005, former drummer Jeremy Hummel filed a federal lawsuit against the remaining members of Breaking Benjamin, as well as its management, claiming he was not paid for songs he helped write. Hummel's lawsuit asks for more than $8 million in damages. No further details on this lawsuit have been released.

The band released their third album, Phobia, on August 8, 2006. The first single, "The Diary of Jane" was released online on May 22, 2006 and later was released on the radio June 6, 2006. The music video for "The Diary Of Jane" premiered on Yahoo! Music on June 21st, 2006.


2002 - Saturate

2004 - We Are Not Alone

2006 - Phobia


2001 - Breaking Benjamin EP

2004 - Live EP

2004 - So Cold


2002 - "Polyamorous" - Saturate

2003 - "Skin" - Saturate

2003 - "Medicate" - Saturate

2004 - "So Cold" - We Are Not Alone

2004 - "Sooner or Later" - We Are Not Alone

2005 - "Rain" - We Are Not Alone

2006 - "The Diary of Jane"

Share your thoughts

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

0 Comments found