30 Seconds to Mars

Members: Jared Leto, Tomo Milicevic, Matt Wachter, Shannon Leto

Active: 1998-present


Created in 1998 by Jared Leto (vocals and guitar) and his brother, Shannon (drums), 30 Seconds to Mars merely began as a small family project. Things began to speed up quickly, however, and Matt Wachter later joined the band as bassist. After a small revolving door of guitarists (as the band's first two guitarists, Kevin Drake and Solon Bixler, left the band due to issues primarily related to touring), the three auditioned Tomo Milicevic to round out the band's roster. Matt Wachter plays keyboards for the band.

Although Jared Leto is a Hollywood actor, he prefers not to use this information to promote the band; in fact, the band refuses to play at venues that use his fame to promote shows.

30 Seconds to Mars' first self-titled album, produced by Bob Ezrin, was released in 2002 to mixed reviews and achieved sales of just over 100,000. The band's second album, A Beautiful Lie, was released on August 30, 2005. For this effort, the band traveled (during the course of three years) to four different continents, including five different countries, to perfect their sound and also to allow for Jared's film career. The album was produced by Josh Abraham, whose producing credits also include Orgy, Velvet Revolver, and Linkin Park.

Because A Beautiful Lie was leaked five months before its release, the band decided to include two bonus tracks: "Battle of One" (an original song that was also set to be the album's title track when it was first announced) and "Hunter" (a cover of the Bj?rk song of the same name). To further promote the album, the band also enclosed "golden passes" in a select number of copies, which grant their owners access to any 30 Seconds to Mars concert free of charge, along with backstage access.

On August 31, 2006 the band won the MTV2 Award for "The Kill" at the MTV Video Music Awards, one of two awards they were nominated for. A Beautiful Lie was certified gold by the RIAA in August for distribution of over 500,000 albums.

Starting in October, the band will begin the "Welcome to the Universe" tour, sponsored by MTV2. They will be touring with Head Automatica, The Receiving End of Sirens, Cobra Starship, and several other bands.


The band's phoenix logo (which the band named "Mythra") bears the phrase "Provehito in Altum", the band's motto. Roughly translated from Latin, this means "Launch forth into the deep". The logo was primarily used for promotion of the band's debut self-titled album, whereas for their second release, A Beautiful Lie, the new Trinity logo was created consisting of three skulls, along with the band's name and motto.


2002 - 30 Seconds to Mars

2005 - A Beautiful Lie


2002 - "Capricorn (A Brand New Name)"

2002 - "Edge of the Earth"

2005 - "Attack"

2006 - "The Kill"

Share your thoughts

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

0 Comments found