Drake - Thank Me Later

Drake - Thank Me Later

Your rating:

Published by: Young Money, Cash Money, Universal Motown

Published in: 2010

Release type: Full CD

About this Album:

Thank Me Later is the debut studio album of Canadian rapper Drake and Lil Wayne protégé. It was released June 15, 2010 on Young Money Entertainment and Cash Money Records. The album features guest appearances from Alicia Keys, T.I., Jay-Z, The Dream, Young Jeezy and Lil Wayne. Production for the album took place at various recording studios during 2009 to 2010 and was mostly produced by longtime collaborators Noah “40″ Shebib and Boi-1da.
Drake has already enjoyed Top 10 chart success in the UK as a key member of the Young Money collective. Born into a musical family, his father drummed with Jerry Lee Lewis, and his uncle is the legendary bass player Larry Graham.
“Thank Me Later” features a predominantly sparse, downbeat production and contains subjective lyrics concerning themes of fame, self-examination, and love.
The album received generally positive reviews from most music critics, earning praise for Drake’s introspective lyrics and receiving musical comparisons to the works of hip hop artists Kanye West and Kid Cudi. Following an anticipated release, it debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 447,000 copies in the United States in its first week. It reached platinum certification in Canada within its debut week and produced three singles that attained chart success.

“Over” was released as the album’s first single on March 8, 2010 through digital distribution. The Anthony Mandler-helmed clip features Drake reminiscing over an experience, and the struggle between his old life and the new one.
“Find Your Love” was released as the album’s second single on May 5, 2010. The song became Drake’s best charting effort since “Best I Ever Had” appearing in the top five on the Billboard Hot 100, and the top ten in Canada. The accompanying video, also directed by Anthony Mandler was shot and Jamaica and chronicles Drake’s relationship with a gang-affiliated woman.
“Miss Me“, the album’s third single was initially released as a promo single on June 1, 2010, before going to radio. The single has currently peaked at number 15 in the United States and the Hype Williams-directed video has been filmed.

Album Information
Released June 15, 2010
Recorded 2009–2010
Genre Hip hop, pop, R&B, electronica
Length 61:02
Label Young Money, Cash Money, Universal Motown
Producer Lil Wayne (exec.), Cortez Bryant (exec.), Gee Robinson (exec.), Slim Williams (exec.), Birdman (exec.), 40, Al Khaaliq, Boi-1da, Crada, Francis and the Lights, Jeff Bhasker, Kanye West, No I.D., Omen, Swizz Beatz, Timbaland, Tone Mason

Get this Album at:

Share your thoughts

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

0 Comments found