Whitney Houston

I Look to You

I Look to You I Look to You is the seventh studio album by international R&B superstar Whitney Houston, and her first album since “One Wish: The Holiday Album” (2003).

Houston’s voice is as ethereal and virtuosic as ever, but the songs themselves take on something of a new persona - gutsy, impassioned and sassy. The writing talents of R. Kelly and the ubiquitous Akon give the record a distinct modernity for an artist whose back-catalogue is so associated with the past, and the result is a truly updated Whitney.

Overall, the album is very positive, tasteful and of a high quality. Whitney’s voice has changed since we last heard her but it is still undeniably Whitney. The album is Whitney from start to finish and there aren’t really any tracks that should have been left out. It’s definitely a must have for Whitney fans, shes finally back and in a better place than she has been for years. Its also worth buying if you haven’t previously bought any Whitney records as it is contemporary enough to be appreciated for that reason.

The title song “I Look to You” was released as the first single in July 2009 giving Houston her first top 20 hit on the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Songs in nearly a decade.

The second single “Million Dollar Bill” is currently making its impact as the worldwide lead single.
“I Didn’t Know My Own Strength” debuted has peaked at number 32 on the Hot Dance Club Songs chart in the US despite never being officially released. It is due to be performed on the Oprah Winfrey Show during the two-show special dedicated to Houston.

The album contains a mixture of R&B, soft ballads and dance music.
Writing and production from the album includes contributions from Swizz Beatz, Johntá Austin, Alicia Keys, R. Kelly, Danja, as well as Houston herself, who for the first time in her career is accredited as producing and writing songs. Akon has production credits on two of the album’s songs as well as being the only featured artist.

Given the fact that this album just entered charts around the world at the number one position, it seems fair to say that this album is still a warm and surprising from an artist from whom not much was expected anymore. Welcome back, Whitney !

Album Information
The album was released on August 28, 2009 trough Sony Music in Europe, and on August 31, 2009 on Arista Records in the United States, and October 19, 2009 via RCA Records in the United Kingdom.
Released August 28, 2009
Recorded 2006 – 2009, Chalice Studios, San Fransisco, Patchwerk Studios, Atlanta, Hit Factory, Miami, Mason Sounds, North Hollywood
Genre R&B, dance-pop, soul
Length 44:27
Label Arista
Producer Clive Davis (exec.), Whitney Houston, Larry Jackson, Alicia Keys, Akon, Danja, David Foster, Emanuel Kiriakou, Eric Hudson, Fernando Garibay, Harvey Mason Jr., R. Kelly, StarGate, Swizz Beatz
1.   Million Dollar Bill
2.   Nothin' But Love
3.   Call You Tonight (Submit new Lyrics)
4.   I Look to You
5.   Like I Never Left (Submit new Lyrics)
6.   A Song For You
7.   I Didn't Know My Own Strength
8.   Worth it
9.   For the Lovers (Submit new Lyrics)
10.   I Got You (Submit new Lyrics)
11.   Salute (Submit new Lyrics)
Type: Full CD
Publisher: Arista
Published in: 2009

Submitted by walter at Thu 16 Oct, 2014 1:58 pm


CommonCrawl [Bot]

Follow Muzikum