Members: Ryan Key, Sean Mackin, Ryan Mendez, Peter Mosely, Longineu Warren Parsons III.

Active: 1997-present


Yellowcard was formed in 1997 in Jacksonville, Florida after meeting at Douglas Anderson School of the Arts. The band was made up of six members: Ben Dobson(vocals), Todd Clarry (vocals, guitar), Ben Harper (guitar), Sean Mackin (violin), Warren Cooke (bass guitar), and Longineu W. Parsons III (drums). The band released their first album, Midget Tossing, in 1997 and met with some success, but soon began to undergo some changes. Their lead singer was replaced by Ryan Key who convinced the band that they couldn't be successful in Florida, so they decided to move to Southern California. The new group released their debut album, One for the Kids (Lobster Records), in 2001, and followed up with The Underdog EP (Fueled by Ramen Records) in 2002 which were both well-received by fans. However, Yellowcard's real public reception came after signing with Capitol Records in 2003 and releasing Ocean Avenue. Fans loved the album's sincere lyrics and unique musical style (mostly due to Mackin's violin playing). The band's popularity continues today; they have toured with bands such as Something Corporate and Less Than Jake, as well as appeared on the soundtrack of the hit film Spider-Man 2 and on the compilation "Rock Against Bush Vol. II, with a cover of Lagwagon's song "Violins." The band's three singles from their 2003 release are "Way Away," "Ocean Avenue," and "Only One." Yellowcard's most recent album, Lights and Sounds, was released on January 24, 2006. In the first week, the album sold just over 90,000 copies. The title track, "Lights and Sounds," was the first single released and is also featured on Burnout Revenge (for PlayStation 2 & Xbox)


Since August 2005, Yellowcard has worked on their new CD, entitled Lights and Sounds. The album was released on January 24th, 2006. Pete and Ryan moved to New York City in January of 2005 and starting working on the album while the rest of the band recuperated in California from 18 straight months of touring. The album is a concept album based on the band's overwhelming feeling of hating L.A. 20 songs were recorded for the album, 14 of which are on the CD, plus a track only available on iTunes called Three Flights Down. Other songs include "Lights and Sounds," "Space Travel," "Sure Thing Falling," and "Two Weeks From Twenty" (one of Ryan's favorites, about a G.I. killed in Iraq).

Ryan says that "Holly became this person on the record who appears in a lot of the songs, and at times you love her and at times you hate her. At times she's good to you and sometimes she's bad. She's in a song called "Holly Wood Died," and in another song called "Rough Landing, Holly," which is my favorite song on the album." News


1997 - Midget Tossing
1999 - Where We Stand
2001 - One for the Kids
2003 - Ocean Avenue
2006 - Lights and Sounds


2000 - Still Standing EP
2002 - The Underdog EP


2004 - Beyond Ocean Avenue: Live at the Electric Factory

Edit biography


Submitted by OptimusPrime at Mon 22 May, 2006 7:39 am


Last updated by OptimusPrime at Mon 22 May, 2006 7:39 am

Follow Muzikum