Members: Jason Wade, Rick Woolstenhulme, Bryce Soderberg

Active: 2000-present


Lifehouse is a melodic rock band from the United States, popular with mainstream audiences. They came to prominence in 2000 with the hit single "Hanging by a Moment" from their debut album, No Name Face. The single won a Billboard Music Award for Hot 100 Single of the Year beating out Janet Jackson and Alicia Keys for the No.1 Single of 2001. In 2002, they released their follow up album Stanley Climbfall. The band's third album, self-titled Lifehouse was released in 2005.

The band was founded by leader and singer Jason Wade (vocals, guitar) and his friends Sergio Andrade (bass), and Jon Palmer (drums) providing the core trio. Collin Hayden (additional guitar) and Aaron Lord (violin, viola, mandolin, additional guitars) were added to the lineup soon after.

When Jason was 15 years old, Kate Miner introduced him to friend and collaborator Ron Aniello, who helped Jason to hone his skills. Working with Aniello as producer, the young men released a demo album in 1999 under the name Blyss entitled Diff's Lucky Day. Originally intended for sale at concerts, or for giving to friends or potential industry contacts, these limited-release CDs surprised everyone when they began to sell for hundreds of dollars on eBay. Five of the twelve tracks were remixed and released on No Name Face. Because of his charisma and talent, DreamWorks Records focused their sights solely on frontman Jason Wade, and by the time the debut album was released on October 31, 2000, Wade and Andrade were the only remaining founding members. Rick Woolstenhulme replaced Jon Palmer on drums, and later his brother Sean was added on guitar (also a former guitarist for The Calling).

"Hanging by a Moment" was labeled the Most Played Song of 2001.

Fans of the band consider Jason's lyrics to be deep, questioning, and profoundly spiritual. Detractors, however, find Lifehouse's output to be "drab FM-radio rock".


In April 2004, it was confirmed that Sergio Andrade and Sean Woolstenhulme (b. March 1, 1981, in Gilbert, Arizona, U.S.A) had decided to leave the band to pursue individual projects. Jason Wade and Rick Woolstenhulme remain active members of Lifehouse. On July 6, 2004, they went to Maryland to begin work on their third album, Lifehouse, which was released on March 22, 2005.

Their latest single, "You and Me", was released for airplay on January 18, 2005. It was written several years ago and originally performed by Jason Wade in the 2000 independent film "All Over Again." The song also appears on the soundtrack to Smallville, and the band actually performs it onscreen in one of the episodes. In late 2004, Bryce Soderberg (AM Radio) signed on as Lifehouse's new bassist.

The music video for their second single, "Blind", was released October 19, 2005. It stars Napoleon Dynamite's own Tina Majorino, known as "Deb" in the film and features several recent thespians such as Sarch McClain, Stephen Cheung, and Andy Walters.


2000 - No Name Face
2002 - Stanley Climbfall
2005 - Lifehouse


2000 - "Sick Cycle Carousel"
2001 - "Hanging by a Moment"
2001 - "Breathing"
2002 - "Spin"
2002 - "Take Me Away"
2005 - "You And Me"
2005 - "Blind"

DVD'S - 2005 "Everything"

Edit biography


Submitted by OptimusPrime at Tue 29 Aug, 2006 8:06 am


Last updated by OptimusPrime at Tue 29 Aug, 2006 8:06 am

Follow Muzikum