Members: Marcel Schirmer, Mike Sifringer, Marc Reign

Active: 1982 - present


Destruction is a German thrash metal band formed in L?rrach, Germany in 1982. They originally started under the name "Knight of Demon". Destruction recorded their first demo in 1984 entitled Bestial Invasion of Hell. Destruction is one of the three big names of teutonic thrash metal; the others are Kreator and Sodom. A 2000 reunion has been consistently successful and the band released a new album in 2005.

The band have had a heavy influence on the American thrash metal genre.

In the '90s Destruction were not signed to a record label, so were forced to self-produce their albums, until they signed a contract with Nuclear Blast.

Destruction formed as Knight of Demon in 1982 in L?rrach Germany. The original lineup featured vocalist/bassist Marcel Schirmer, drummer Tommy Sandmann, and guitarist Mike Sifinger. They soon changed their name to Destruction and released two demos. After this the group signed with Steamhammer Records and released an EP titled Sentence of Death. The band released their first four full-length albums titled Infernal Overkill in 1985, Eternal Devastation in 1986, Release from Agony in 1988 and Cracked Brain in 1990. Lead singer Marcel Schirmer left the band due to creative differences and the group's demise began. During the grunge explosion during the early to mid 1990's, Destruction lost their record label support and had to self release and produce their own albums. In 1999 lead singer Marcel Schirmer rejoined Destruction and things began to once again look up for the band as they signed a record deal with Nuclear Blast. They then released three more albums, All Hell Breaks Loose in 2000, The Antichrist in 2001 and Metal Discharge in 2003. The band would then sign with AFM Records and release Inventor of Evil in 2005.

Together with Sodom and Kreator they are considered one of the extreme german thrash legend out there. Destructions first full length album Infernal Overkill influeced thrash and black metal equally. Infernal Overkill is one undying album in the history of thrash.


1984 - Sentence of Death
1985 - Infernal Overkill
1986 - Eternal Devastation
1987 - Mad Butcher
1988 - Release from Agony
1988 - Live without Sense
1990 - Cracked Brain
1994 - Destruction EP
1995 - Them Not Me EP
1998 - The Least Successful Human Cannonball
2000 - All Hell Breaks Loose
2001 - The Antichrist
2003 - Alive Devastation
2003 - Metal Discharge
2005 - Inventor of Evil
2007 - Thrash Anthems


2004 - Live Discharge

Edit biography


Submitted by OptimusPrime at Mon 08 Jan, 2007 7:01 am


Last updated by keeskees at Wed 20 Jul, 2016 9:50 am

Follow Muzikum