The Soil

Members: AJ Cavalier, Adam Zadel, Shaun Glass, Tim King, Tom Schofield

Active: 1997-present


SOiL is a five-piece aggressive rock/Nu Metal band from Chicago, formed in 1997 by ex-members of renowned death metal acts Broken Hope and Oppressor. After three rather unsuccessful efforts (the EP SOiL, the EP El Chupacabra and the first album Throttle Junkies), they managed to gain international success with their album Scars. Their success was helped by singles such as Halo and Unreal, which bear their distinctive harsh but emotional and melodic sound. They are widely lampooned in death metal culture as the one of the most high-profile and egregious "fag-outs" the genre has seen.

In 2004, singer Ryan McCombs announced a departure from the band; NY-based new vocalist AJ Cavalier was introduced on November 15, 2004.

On July 20, 2005, McCombs was confirmed to be the new singer for Drowning Pool.

SOiL's new album True Self was released on May 2nd, 2006 in the US. The album leaked onto P2P and BitTorrent sites on March 4th, almost 2 months before its official release.

"Soil" is also the former name of alt metal band System of a Down.


1999 - Throttle Junkies
2001 - Scars
2004 -
2006 - True Self


1997 - SOiL (EP)
1998 - El Chupacabra

Follow Muzikum